The Two Cent Bridge Trail at RiverWalk at Head of Falls in Waterville, Maine is an easy 0.4-mile trail that brings visitors across the historic Two Cent Bridge before running alongside the Kennebec River with views of the river and the bridge.
Parking can be found in the large lot at the coordinates provided. The lot is large enough to fit several dozen vehicles.
As stated by a sign located on premise as of July 2021: The Two Cent Bridge was first listed on the National Registry of Historic Places in 1973. This beautiful 576-foot span over the Kennebec is the longest and oldest wire suspension footbridge in America and stands as an important reminder of the Kennebec River history shared by Waterville and Winslow. The Ticonic (Two Cent) Footbridge was constructed in 1901 by Edwin Dwight Graves of the Berlin Construction Company for the Ticonic Footbridge Company, chartered in 1899. It opened on December 15, 1901 and provided workers with easy access to the Hollingsworth & Whitney paper mill across the Kennebec River in Winslow... The original toll was a penny, collected at a booth on the Waterville side. Less than a year after its opening, the bridge was washed away by high water. It was rebuilt in 1903 and to recover the cost, the toll for the crossing rose to two cents, resulting in the common name of the bridge.
Dogs are allowed if leashed and their waste must be carried out by the hiker.